Posted by: britt88 | March 13, 2008

Life and Debt (#1)

So far, I have found this video to be really interesting.  I usually don’t stop to think about what life must be like for the people who actually live in Jamaica.  When we go to a place like Jamaica for vacation, we stay in a hotel and experience the best the country has to offer.  But what is life like outside of the tourist areas?  Life and Debt made me stop to consider this question.  It’s almost as if there are two Jamaicas- the one with the luxury resorts, pools, spas, and comfortable amenities and then another Jamaica that is filled with hardships, struggles, and quiet desperation.  The “second Jamaica” is the Jamaica that most people never see or experience.  I had a very vague idea of what Jamaica is like outside the tourist areas before I watched this video.  Each year, my high school sent the students on a mission trip.  The seniors always went somewhere outside the country, and my boyfriend’s class went to Jamaica for their senior mission trip.  Hearing about their experience gave me a slight understanding of the difficulties in Jamaica, but watching Life and Debt has really opened my eyes to the economic hardships the people there face every day.


Responses

  1. I found your blog on Yahoo and read a few of your other posts. Nice blog.

    Tim Ramsey

  2. Thanks! 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories